Home | Macau | Asia-Pacific tourism ministers meet in Macau

Asia-Pacific tourism ministers meet in Macau

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Over 500 guests, including tourism ministers or representatives from 21 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) members, will participate in the tourism meeting that will take place in Macau from September 8 to 14. The event’s budget is MOP75 million, according to yesterday’s announcement.
The 2014 TMM will coincide with the annual APEC Economic Leaders’ Meeting, which is to be hosted in Beijing, despite previously being scheduled to take place in Hong Kong. The focal point of the event, the 8th Tourism Ministers Meeting (TMM), will take place on September 12 and 13 at the international conference center of the Macau East Asian Games Dome.
Representatives from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), The United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), and the Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) will attend.
The Government Spokesperson’s Office held a press conference yesterday to present the meeting that focuses on establishing tourism cooperation throughout the Asia-Pacific region.
Topics will relate to tourism market integration, transformation and growth of the industry, tourism intelligence via modern technology, low-carbon tourism and so on. A document titled “Macau Declaration” will be discussed and passed around in the meeting, but details were not available in the press conference yesterday.
The gov’t spokesperson Alexis Tam, said yesterday that the MSAR is ready for the meeting. “With regards to anti-terrorism and those types of threats, related departments, especially the safety departments, will act according to the laws.”  
The 45th tourism meeting will be held before the TMM as an APEC convention. The meeting will take place from September 8 to 11, taking place in the Four Seasons Hotel.
The Macau Government Tourist Office (MFTO) will organize a tour for guests to visit the historic sites of the city. “The APEC meeting gives us a chance to present Macau’s world-class tourism facilities, high-standard receiving ability, and the unique character of joining cultures of east and west,” said Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes, the MGTO director.
She also said that there will also be a fireworks demonstration on September 13. 
A specific website for the event (www.apec-tourism.gov.mo), will be open this Friday at 9 a.m., containing aspects like the meeting’s agenda, venue information and registration for participants and media. All information will be available in English only. 
Established in 1989, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, or APEC, is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. It has 21 members – referred to as “member economies” – which account for approximately 40 percent of the world’s population, approximately 55 percent of world GDP, and about 44 percent of world trade.
APEC’s 21 Member economies are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand;,Papua New Guinea, Peru; Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, the United States of America and Vietnam. GY

Tagged as:

No tags for this article
  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:


Responsible Right of Expression — In the interest of freedom of expression, coupled with a true sense of responsibility to encourage community dialogue, the Macau Daily Times offers its readers the opportunity to express their opinions on new-related matters through this website. All opinions are welcome. However, we reserve the right to remove comments that are deemed to be obscene, or are merely insults written under the cloak of anonymity. MDT