Football | Ronaldo, Messi and 6 Germany players in Ballon d’Or 23-man list

Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo

Six members of the Germany squad that won the World Cup were included among the nominees for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award yesterday, joining Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar on the 23-man short list.
Mario Goetze, who scored the winning goal against Argentina in the World Cup final, was selected along with Germany teammates Toni Kroos, Philipp Lahm, Thomas Mueller, Manuel Neuer, and Bastian Schweinsteiger.
Uruguay forward Luis Suarez was left out following his biting ban.
Suarez was the top scorer in the English Premier League last sea son with 31 goals in 33 appearances for Liverpool. But his reputation took a hit when he was banned for four months for biting Italy’s Giorgio Chiellini in the World Cup group phase.
Messi won the first three years the FIFA and France Football merged their international player of the year awards, while Ronaldo took the honor last year.
Also, Germany coach Joachim Loew led the 10-man list of nominees for FIFA world coach of the year. Carlo Ancelotti, who guided Real Madrid to the Champions League title last season, was also selected.
The lists were selected by FIFA’s football committee and France Football, and FIFA’s women’s football committee helped select the coaches list.
The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of national teams and international media representatives selected by France Football.
The three finalists with the most votes for each award will be announced Dec. 1 and the winners will be revealed Jan. 12.

fifa ballon d’or nominees

Gareth Bale (Wales), Karim Benzema (France), Diego Costa (Spain), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Angel Di Maria (Argentina), Mario Goetze (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Toni Kroos (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Mueller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Paul Pogba (France), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), James Rodriguez (Colombia), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast).

fifa world coach of the year nominees

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus/Italy national team), Pep Guardiola (Spain/Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klinsmann (Germany/ U.S. national team), Joachim Loew (Germany/Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea), Manuel Pellegrini (Chile/Manchester City), Alejandro Sabella (Argentina/Argentina national team), Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid), Louis van Gaal (Netherlands/Netherlands national team/Manchester United).

Categories Sports